Clearing the clutter

Photo credit

Over the past couple of months I’ve been on a declutter drive. Not intentionally, but because my financial situation necessitated it. Selling off some of my stuff has not been easy but I believe in all of this God is teaching me to trust in Him and show me what I really need. He’s also teaching me that I have all that I really need. I was the classic collector and if I’m truly honest with myself I could have been a better steward with His money. I’ve never been greedy and I have shared what I had with others and blessed my local ministry but there were some excesses I could have done without.

When my financial situation necessitated that I sell off things to keep my head above the water I was surprised at the amount of things that I actually had for sale. The sad thing about it, is that I’ve never missed any of the items sold. Not once. Having to get to the point of financial ruin to realize that I could have done much better is a rude awakening, to say the least, yet I know that in spite of it all, my Father loves me and isn’t interested in suffering me to make a point. I know I won’t always be in a position of not being able to pay my bills or being stressed about being behind my mortgage or wondering where all my clients have gone. I’m not sure how He’s going to turn things around for me but I know that there is nothing that He can’t do. Don’t believe me? Check His Word.

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. – Jeremiah 29:11

I purpose to be a better steward when my situation turns. I’ve grown a lot and I have learned a lot and I’m grateful that in spite of all I’m going through, He’s still showing His tender love and mercy to me.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

